Evening Concert

Scheherazade plus Danzons by Marquez among the highlights on this week’s “Evening Concert”


This week on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 you’ll hear all American music on “The New York Philharmonic This Week”, then Rimsky-Korsakov’s “Scheherazade” from Chicago, baroque ensemble L’Arpeggiata on “Carnegie Hall Live!”, Latin American orchestral music from Los Angeles, and Sunday chamber music from Lincoln Center and the program “Early Music Now”.

WILL-FM: The Evening Concert: WEEK OF JUL 9 –10 – 11 – 12 & 15, 2018


Monday July 9: “The New York Philharmonic This Week” (NYP 18-41)

The program differs from the listing in Patterns Magazine per the NYP

Conductors: Bramwell Tovey; Lt. Col. Jim Keene, conductor
Soloists: Tracy Dahl, vocalist; The Hellcats and Jazz Knights from the West Point Band 
Bernstein: “Three Dance Episodes” from On the Town and "Glitter and Be Gay" from Candide      
Gershwin: "Walking the Dog" from Shall We Dance?  
Gershwin (arr. Bramwell Tovey): "The Man I Love", “They Can't Take That Away from Me", 
"A Foggy Day in London Town", "Fascinatin' Rhythm"
Traditional: American Heritage; Ward: America the Beautiful; Garland: In the Mood

Elgar: March No. 1 in D major from Military Marches, Pomp and Circumstance, Op. 39, No. 1
Sousa: The Liberty Bell; Kessler: Armed Forces Medley; Egner: The Official West Point March 
Sousa: The Stars and Stripes Forever  [NYP Fill Music: Ellington/Marsalis: A Tone Parallel to Harlem]

Tuesday July 10: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast (CSO 18-28)

Susanna Mälkki conducts Scheherazade (Repeat of 16-43)

Debussy: Gigues from Images for Orchestra; Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 2 (Gil Shaham, violin)

Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade (Robert Chen, violin); [CSO fill: Adès:  . . . but all shall be well ]


Wednesday July 11: Carnegie Hall Live! (CHL 18-02)

L'Arpeggiata Presents 17th-century Italian vocal music by Luigi Rossi

Christina Pluhar, Artistic Director; Céline Scheen, Soprano; Giuseppina Bridelli, Mezzo-Soprano

Rossi: Sinfonia and "Vaghi Rivi" from Il Palazzo Incantato; Rossi: "Begl'occhi, che dite"
Rossi: "Dove mi spingi, amor" from Il Palazzo Incantato; Rossi: "Gelosia ch'a poco a poco"
Cazzati: Ciaccona from Trattenimento per camera d’arie, correnti, e balletti
Rossi: "Mio ben" and "Dal imperio d’amore" from Orfeo; Rossi: "Questo picciolo rio"
L. Allegri: Canario from Il primo libro delle musiche
Rossi: "Dormite, begl’occhi" from Orfeo; Rossi: "Sol per breve tormento" from Il Palazzo Incantato
Rossi: "Se dolente e flebil cetra"; "La bella più bella"; Rossi: Ballo from Il Palazzo Incantato
Sances: Sonata from L'Orontea
Rossi: "Al soave spirar d'aure serene"; Rossi: "Lasciate Averno" from Orfeo
(Encore) Monteverdi: Pur Ti Miroi


Thursday July 12: Los Angeles Philharmonic (LAP 18-02)

Conductor: Gustavo Dudamel

Javier Alvarez: Metro Chabacano; Enrico Chapela: ínguesu

Gabriela Ortiz: Teének - Invenciones de territoria (World Premiere, LA Phil Commission)

Arturo Marquez: Danzon No. 1; Danzon No. 2; Danzon No. 8

Arturo Marquez: Danzon No. 9 (World Premiere, LA Phil Commission)


Sunday July 15: The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 17-42)

Small to Big

Ravel: Sonata for Violin and Cello; Yura Lee, Violin; Jakob Koranyi, Cello

Vierne: Quintet for Piano, 2 Violins, Viola, & Cello, Op. 42  Gilles Vonsattel, Piano; Danish String Quartet


Early Music Now with Sara Schneider (EMN 18-03) [New Series]

The Phantasticks

This week's show follows the development of stylus fantasticus from its Italian origins to the Germans who brought the style to its zenith.

Dario Castello: Sonata in D minor I Fagiolini/Robert Hollingworth

Girolamo Frescobaldi: Toccata Quinta: sopra I pedali, e senza Liuwe Tamminga, organ

J.J. Froberger: Toccatas II & XIX Alina Rotaru, harpsichord

Matthias Weckmann: Toccata in A minor Gustav Leonhardt, harpsichord

Matthias Weckmann: Sonata No. 9 Quicksilver (Baroque Ensemble)

Dieterich Buxtehude: Praeludium in fis, BuxWV146 Ton Koopman, organ

Dieterich Buxtehude: Sonata in a for violin, viola da gamba, and basso continuo, BuxWV 272 Catherine Manson, violin; Jonathan Manson, viola da gamba, Mike Fentross, lute; Ton Koopman, organ

Nicolaus Bruhns: Praeludium in G Ton Koopman, organ

Antonio Bertali: Sonata No. 10 Quicksilver (Baroque Ensemble)