Evening Concert

Symphonies by Brahms (his 1st) and Bruckner (his 7th) highlight this week’s “Evening Concert”


This week on the “Evening Concert” on WILL-FM 90.9 you’ll hear works for two pianos from Carnegie Hall, Bruckner’s “7th Symphony” from Chicago, Brahms’ “1st Symphony” from San Francisco, Thursday it’s “The New York Philharmonic This Week” and Sunday. . . chamber music from Lincoln Center and Santa Fe. 

WILL-FM: The Evening Concert: WEEK OF JUN 19 – 20 – 21 – 22 & 25, 2017


Monday June 19: Carnegie Hall Live! (CHL 17-12)


Performers: Leif Ove Andsnes, Piano

Marc-André Hamelin, Piano

MOZART: Larghetto and Allegro for Two Pianos (completed by Paul Badura-Skoda)

STRAVINSKY: Concerto for Two Pianos

DEBUSSY: En blanc et noir

STRAVINSKY: Le sacre du printempsfor Two Pianos


Tuesday June 20: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO 17-25)

Riccardo Muti conducts Bruckner 7

Mussorgsky: A Night on Bald Mountain

Strauss: Don Juan, Op. 20

Bruckner: Symphony No. 7 in E Major


Wednesday June 21: San Francisco Symphony (SFS 17-12)


CONDUCTOR: Michael Tilson Thomas

SOLOIST: Yefim Bronfman, piano

C.P.E. Bach Symphony No. 1 in D major, Wq183,1 (H663)

Jörg Widmann Trauermarsch for Piano and Orchestra (jointly commissioned by the San Francisco Symphony, Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation, and the Toronto Symphony)

Brahms Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Opus 68

Stravinsky Apollo


Thursday June 22: “The New York Philharmonic This Week” (NYP 17-39)

CONDUCTOR: Alan Gilbert

SOLOIST: Leila Josefowicz, violin

LYADOV: Enchanted Lake

STRAVINSKY: Petrushka (1911)

ADAMS: Scheherazade.2


Sunday June 25: Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 16-39)

G minor

Haydn Quartet in G minor for Strings, Op. 20, No. 3, Hob. III:33Orion String Quartet (Todd Phillips, Daniel Phillips, Violin; Steven Tenenbom, Viola; Timothy Eddy, Cello)

Schumann Trio No. 3 in G minor for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 110 Inon Barnatan, Piano; Benjamin Beilman, Violin; Torleif Thedéen, Cello


The Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival (SFE 17-13) [Last in series]

LEOŠ JANÁČEK (1854 – 1928)Piano Sonata, Z ulice, 1.X.05 (From the Street, 1 October 1905)(1905)Haochen Zhang, piano

PYOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY (1840 – 1893)Souvenir de Florence, Op. 70 (1892)Kyoko Takezawa & Cho-Liang Lin, violins; Che-Yen Chen & Tien-Hsin Cindy Wu, violas; Keith Robinson & Nicholas Canellakis, cellos