Evening Concert

A “Pathetique” Symphony, a “1st Piano Concerto” a “5th Symphony” this week’s Evening Concert


This week on the “Evening Concert” on WILL-FM 90.9 you’ll hear Tchaikovsky’s 6th Symphony, the “Pathetique” from Milwaukee, Brahms’ “1st Piano Concerto” featuring Yefim Bronfman and the Cleveland Orchestra, another “New York Philharmonic This Week” plus Sunday. . . . .chamber music from Lincoln Center and the Gilmore International Keyboard Festival.

WILL-FM: The Evening Concert: WEEK OF NOV 7 – 8 – 9 – 10 – 11 & 13, 2016


Monday November 7: Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra (16-06)


LUTOSLAWSKI: Musique funèbre

BARTÓK: Concerto No. 3 for Piano and Orchestra (SOLOIST: Orli Shaham, piano)

TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Opus 74, "Pathétique"


Tuesday November 8: NPR and IPM coverage of ELECTION 2016

Pre-empts the Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO 16-45)


Wednesday November 9: Cleveland Orchestra (CO) (16-17)


Severance Hall and BBC Proms, London

Franz Welser-Möst, conductor

BRAHMS: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15 (Yefim Bronfman, piano)

BRAHMS: Symphony No. 1 in c, Op. 68

[CO fill: SIBELIUS: Tapiola – CO/Welser-Most; rec. 2007)]

Thursday November 10: The New York Philharmonic This Week” (NYP 17-07)

Gilbert and Mutter Perform Currier and Mahler

Conductor: Alan Gilbert

CURRIER: Time Machines (Soloist: Anne-Sophie Mutter, violin)

MAHLER: Symphony No. 5


Friday November 11: Prairie Performances with Roger Cooper (PP 16-46)

Encore Memorial Weekend       

UI SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA  (4/9/15); University of Illinois Oratorio Society; University of Illinois Chamber Singers; Dr. Andrew Megill, conductor; also featuring: University of Illinois Women's Glee Club; University of Illinois Varsity Men's Glee Club; Mileeyae Kwon, soprano; Jennifer E. Wiggins, mezzo-soprano; Michael Patterson, tenor; Ricardo Sepúlveda, bass

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: “Dies Irae” from Requiem

Lewis Spratlan: Of War (Broadcast premiere)

"Of War" is a work for chorus, soloists, and orchestra. It was premiered on April 9, 2015 at the University of Illinois. Three movements are based on texts by the composer and Constance Congdon. The text of the third movement "Vigil Strange" is from the collection Drum-Taps, book 21 of Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman .


Sunday November 13: Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 16-07)

Baroque Collection

Telemann: Suite in G major for Strings, TWV 55:10, “Don Quixote” Daniel Phillips, Arnaud

Sussmann, Violin; Yura Lee, Viola; Daniel McDonough, Cello; David Grossman, Double Bass;

Kenneth Weiss, Harpsichord

Vivaldi: Sonata in A minor for Cello and Continuo, RV 43; Efe Baltacigil, Cello Solo; Dane

Johansen, Cello; Paul O’Dette, Lute; John Gibbons, Harpsichord

Bach: Concerto in D minor for Two Violins, Strings, and Continuo, BWV 1043; Violinists

Alexander Sitkovetsky and Daniel Hope, soloing; with an ensemble of CMS artists joining them


The Gilmore International Keyboard Festival (GIL 16-07)

Ravel: La Valse (1919-20); Anderson & Roe Piano Duo

Poulenc: Allegro tristamente from Sonata for Clarinet and Piano (1962); Anton Dressler, clar.; Ingrid Fliter, piano

Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition (1874); Daniel Hsu, piano