Evening Concert

Wynton Marsalis’ “Swing” Symphony on “The New York Philharmonic This Week”


Tonight at 7:00 on WILL-FM’s “Evening Concert” . . . WyntonMarsalis and his “Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra” join theNew York Philharmonic for his “Symphony No.3”, the “Swing”Symphony. Also on the program Copland’s “Clarinet Concerto”,Stravinsky's "Ragtime for 11 Instrments" and Shostakovich's"Tahiti Trot" (a re-orchestration of Vincent Youmans'"Tea for Two" that the composer made in 45 minutes on achallenge from one of his composition professors!).

The New York Philharmonic This Week (#14-24) 

*Case Scaglione, Alan Gilbert, conductors;

*STRAVINSKY: Ragtime for 11 Instruments
COPLAND: Clarinet Concerto (Marc Nuccio, clarinet)
MARSALIS: Swing Symphony   (Symphony No. 3) (Wynton Marsalis, trumpet, conductor: Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra)
[NYP fill: ELLINGTON/MARSALIS: A Tone Parallel to Harlem Wynton Marsalis, trumpet; Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra; NYP/Kurt Masur]