Champaign-Urbana Symphony: Musical Revolutionaries

March 27, 2015
Ran Dank

Ran Dank

The C-U Symphony with Stephen Alltop, conductor, and pianist Ran Dank, performs music of two composers who charted new directions with their music. Stravinsky’s Petrushka, written for the famed Ballets Russes of Paris in 1911, calls forth an immense orchestra and pulsates with vivid details and evocative textures. With his Piano Concerto No. 5, often called the "Emperor Concerto," Beethoven blazed new trails in the concerto form and offered some of his most heroic music in this epic work.

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights