Prairie Performances

Love Notes


By Nikolai Kuznetsov - Nikolai Dimitriyevich Kuznetsov's (1850 - 1929), Public Domain,

On this week's Prairie Performances on WILL-FM it's “Love Notes” with the Illinois Symphony Orchestra with guest conductor Daniel Hege.  

This program features some of the most romantic music of all time. It begins with Tchaikovsky’s masterful depiction of Shakespeare’s tragic lovers, Romeo and Juliet in the justly famous Overture Fantasy. Next we share the fiery passion of George Bizet’s Carmen in music from 2 Suites taken from the opera; and then a romantic episode filled with moonlight and roses in Sergei Rachmaninoff’s 2nd Piano Concerto with pianist Di Wu.

“Love Notes”

Illinois Symphony Orchestra
Daniel Hege | guest conductor
Di Wu | piano

Tchaikovsky Romeo and Juliet

BizetCarmen Suites 1 & 2 Selections

Rachmaninov | Piano Concerto no.2