Masterworks I

September 21, 2018
Inside Kirkland Fine Arts Center at Millikin University

Inside Kirkland Fine Arts Center at Millikin University

On this week's Prairie Performances, Friday at 7 pm on WILL-FM 90.9, we have a concert with the Millikin-Decatur Symphony Orchestra with Conductor, Sergey Bogza. Tonight’s program has a definite eastern European accent with piano soloist Mikhaill Yanovitsky performing the Piano Concerto No. 2 by Sergei Rachmaninoff. The orchestra will end the concert with Maurice Ravel’s orchestration of “Pictures at an Exhibition” by Modeste Mussorgsky.  Things get underway with Claude Debussy’s “The Sunken Cathedral” orchestrated by Leopold Stokowski.

“Masterworks I”

Millikin-Decatur Symphony Orchestra
Sergey Bogza, Conductor
Mikhail Yanovitsky, piano

Claude Debussy | The Sunken Cathedral (arr. Stokowski)

Sergei Rachmaninoff | Piano Concerto No. 2
Mikhail Yanovitsky, piano

Modest Mussorgsky | Pictures at an Exhibition (Ravel)

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights