Music of the Heartland

May 15, 2015
Jeffrey Midkiff

Jeffrey Midkiff

Host Roger Cooper presents this Champaign-Urbana Symphony concert celebrating music from the American heartland that salutes the dedicated farmers who tend the bountiful fields of our country. No composer seemed to capture the essence of Americana better than Aaron Copland. The Suite from his beautiful opera The Tender Land includes the well-known tunes “Zion’s Walls” and “The Promise of Living.” The next work features Jeff Midkiff, who is creating a sensation across the country with his Concerto for Mandolin and Orchestra, melding bluegrass and classical styles. The timeless, soaring melodies of the final piece, Dvorák’s New World Symphony, reflect the composer’s experiences in the U.S. and his time in the American Midwest.

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights