WILL Pressroom

WILL Wins 6 AP Awards


WILL's reporters and contributors won six awards in the downstate radio division of the 2011 Illinois Associated Press Broadcasters Association Journalism Excellence Contest, including best investigative series, best documentary series and best sports story.

WILL awards include:

BEST INVESTIGATIVE SERIES: WILL-AM, Champaign, "Cherry Orchard Landlords to Stand Trial for Code Violations," Sean Powers, Pam G. Dempsey of CU-CitizenAccess.

BEST SPORTS: WILL-AM, Champaign, "Racing Tradition Kept Alive in Farmer City," Sean Powers.

BEST SPOT NEWS: 2nd Place: WILL-AM, Champaign, "Video of Champaign Arrest Leaked Online," Sean Powers.

BEST SERIES/DOCUMENTARY: WILL-AM, Champaign, "Life on Route 150," Jeff Bossert, Sean Powers, Tom Rogers, Dave Dickey, Jim Meadows.

BEST LIGHT FEATURE: 2nd Place: WILL-AM, Champaign, "DIY Smokerpalooza," Lisa Bralts, Dave Dickey.

BEST HARD NEWS FEATURE: 2nd Place: WILL-AM, Champaign, "Audio Recording in Public Places Can Be Serious Crime in Illinois," Sean Powers.

The awards will be presented on Saturday, April 28, at the Illinois News Broadcasters Association convention in Macomb, Ill.