Evening Concert

Brahms’ Two String Sextets from “Music Mountain” on the “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on WILL-FM 90.9 it’s chamber music from “Music Mountain”. The St. Petersburg String Quartet is joined by violist Michelle LaCourse and cellist Rhona Rider for performances of the Two “String Sextet”s by Brahms.  The String Sextet No.1 dates from 1860, with the Second following in 1864-5. You can also read more about the performance group at http://www.stpetersburgquartet.com

Monday August 31:  Music Mountain (MM #15-09)

St. Petersburg String Quartet with Michelle LaCourse, Viola and Rhonda Rider, Cello

-Shostakovich: Adagio & Allegretto (Elegy & Polka) [9:17]

-Brahms: String Sextet in B Flat Major, Opus 18 [35:31]

-Brahms: String Sextet in G Major, Opus 36. [35:24]

{-1st HISTORIC ENCORE, Beethoven String Quartet in G major, opus 18 #2 played by the Blair String Quartet [26:03] -2nd HISTORIC ENCORE, Gershwin: Lullaby played by the Quartetto Latinoamericano [9:42]}