Evening Concert

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, Fiesta!, and Gateways Radio

Music of Elgar, Barrios, David Baker, et.al.

Tonight at 6:00 on the “Evening Concert” on WILL-FM 90.9 you’ll hear Elgar’s Opus 84 “Piano Quintet” from Lincoln Center followed at 7:00 by guitar works of Augustin Barrios on “Fiesta” and at 8:00 by David Baker’s “Saxophone Concerto” on “Gateways Radio”.

Sunday, August 20, 6:00 pm: Chamber Mus. Soc. of Lincoln Center (CMS 23-48) SAME DAY, NEW TIME

Britain’s 20th Century Masters

Britten: Three Divertimentos for String Quartet

Chad Hoopes, Danbi Um, violin; Hsin-Yun Huang, viola; David Requiro, cello

Elgar: Quintet in A minor for Piano, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op. 84

Orion Weiss, piano; Cho-Liang Lin, Alexander Sitkovetsky, violin; Paul

Neubauer, viola; Keith Robinson, cello


Sunday, August 20, 7:00 pm: Fiesta! With Elbio Barilari (FST 23-21) SAME DAY, NEW TIME

Augustin Barrios Revisited (All works on the program are by Barrios)

La Catedral; Eduardo Fernández, guitar

Romanza en imitación al violoncello and Maxixe;  Agustín Barrios Mangoré, guitar
Three Pieces: No 1. Madrigal, No. 2 Minuet, No. 3 Mazurka Appassionata; John Williams, guitar
Un Sueno en la Floresta;  John Williams, guitar
Aire Popular Paraguayo and Choro da Saudade; Eduardo Fernández, guitar
Three Pieces: Cueca, Aire de Zamba, and Aconquija; John Williams, guitar

Sunday, August 20, 8:00 pm: Gateways Radio (GWR 23-03) NEW DAY, NEW TIME

David Baker’s “Saxophone Concerto”

Claude Debussy: Arabesque No. 1; Branford Marsalis, saxophone; English Ch. O.; Andrew Litton, conductor

Michael Abels: Dance for Martin’s Dream; Gateways Orchestra; Michael Morgan, conductor

David Baker: Saxophone Concerto; Thomas Walsh, saxophone; Czech National S.O.; Paul Freeman, conductor

James Lee III: A Narrow Pathway Traveled; Judy Dines, flute; Terrance Patterson, clarinet; Kelly Hall Thompkins, violin; Kenneth Law, cello; David Berry, piano

Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson: Worship; Gateways Orchestra; Michael Morgan, conductor