Evening Concert

Carnegie Hall Live

Sphinx Virtuosi

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on WILL-FM 90.9 it’s “Carnegie Hall Live”.  You’ll hear an eclectic program of newer works like “Divided” by Jessie Montgomery, “Tracing Visions” by Valerie Coleman, and “An Ode to Our Times” by Xavier Foley”.

Thursday, August 3: 7:00 pm: Carnegie Hall Live (CHL 23-05)

Sphinx Virtuosi

Amaryn Olmeda, Violin; Hannah White, Violin; Tommy Mesa, Cello; Xavier Foley, Bass

VILLA-LOBOS: Bachianas brasileiras No. 9

VALERIE COLEMAN: Tracing Visions (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)

CARLOS SIMON: Between Worlds

JESSIE MONTGOMERY: Divided (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)

XAVIER FOLEY: An Ode to Our Times (World Premiere)

BEETHOVEN: Finale from Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 9 in A Major, Op. 47, "Bridgetower"

(arr. for string orchestra by Rubén Rengel)

[CHL fill: Saint-Georges: Violin Concerto in A Major, Op. 5, No. 2; Mutter Virtuosi; Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin
and R. Schumann: Cello Concerto; Sterling Elliott, cello; Luis Ortiz, piano]