Evening Concert

Orchestras from the European Broadcasting Union

Bruckner's 9th Symphony

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the third program in a new series: “Orchestras from the European Broadcasting Union”. Alpesh Chauhan leads the BBC Symphony Orchestra in Bruckner’s “9th Symphony” and Rachmaninoff’s “Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini” with soloist Stephen Hough.

Wednesday, January 18: Orchestras from the European Broadcast Union (EBU 22-03) [NEW SERIES]

Bruckner’s 9th Symphony

ORCHESTRA: BBC Symphony Orchestra | CONDUCTOR: Alpesh Chauhan | SOLOIST: Stephen Hough, piano

Richard Baker: The Price of Curiosity

Serge Rachmaninoff: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 43
(Encore) Ignacy Jan Paderewski: Nocturne in B flat, from 'Miscellanea, op. 16/4' | Stephen Hough, piano

Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 in D minor

[EBU fill: Hector Berlioz: Le Corsaire, Op. 21 | BBC Symphony Orchestra/ Sir John Barbirolli, conductor; and

Benjamin Britten: Five “Waltzes”, No. 1 | Stephen Hough, piano]