Evening Concert

“The Year 1958” on “the New York Philharmonic This Week” on tonight’s “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s “The New York Philharmonic This Week”. You’ll hear Schumann’s “Manfred Overture”, Copland’s “Orchestral Variations” and Gershwin’s “Cuban Overture”, and Schoenberg’s “Transfigured Night”.  Also on the program Prokofiev’s “2nd Piano Concerto” with soloist Vladimir Ashkenazy.

Monday August 20: “The New York Philharmonic This Week” (NYP 18-47)

The Year 1958

Schumann: Manfred Overture 

Schoenberg: Verklärte Nacht;  Dmitri Mitropoulos, conductor 

Copland: Orchestral Variations 

Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 2; Vladimir Ashkenazy, piano

Gershwin: Cuban Overture;    Zubin Mehta, conductor

Copland: Danzon Cubano Leonard Bernstein

Program will feature an interview with Barbara Haws, New York Philharmonic’s Archivist/Historian