Evening Concert

Sibelius’ “1st Symphony” and Martinu’s “4th Piano Concerto on the “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s “The New York Philharmonic This Week”. Garrick Ohlsson is the soloist in Martinu’s “4th Piano Concerto”. Xian (SHE-ahn) Zhang guest conducts. Also on the program Sibelius’ “1st Symphony” and Haydn’s “95th Symphony”.  

Monday March 11: “The New York Philharmonic This Week” (NYP 19-24)

Conductor Xian (SHE-ahn) Zhang & pianist Garrick Ohlsson

HAYDN: Symphony No. 95 in C minor, Hob. I:95 (1791)

MARTINŮ: Incantation, Piano Concerto No. 4, H. 358

SIBELIUS: Symphony No. 1 in E minor, Op. 39

BACH: Magnificat. Sherezade Panthaki, a; Joélle Harvey, a; Iestyn Davies, ct; Nicholas Phan, tr; Tyler Duncan, bar; Bach Collegium Japan, chorus; Yale Schola Cantorum, chorus Maasaki Suzuki, cond. (from NYP 13-33)