Evening Concert

Mozart’s K. 589 String Quartet on tonight’s “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 you’ll hear Mozart’s K. 589 “String Quartet in B-flat Major” and Beethoven’s “Opus 96 Violin Sonata” on “The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center”. At 8:00 you’ll hear from the Baltimore Consort and Ensemble Organum on “Early Music Now”.

Sunday February 16: The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 19-21)

Music of the Enlightenment II

Beethoven: Sonata in G major for Violin and Piano, Op. 96 Bella Hristova, Violin; Gilbert Kalish, Piano

Mozart: Quartet in B-flat major for Strings, K. 589 Escher String Quartet (Adam Barnett-Hart, Danbi Um, Violin; Pierre Lapointe, Viola; Brook Speltz, Cello)


Early Music Now with Sara Schneider (EMN 19-34)

Love Struck

This week's program is all about l'amour, ranging from the sublimely beautiful to the slightly naughty! We'll hear music from a heart-shaped songbook (the Chansonnier Cordiforme) and a recent release from the Baltimore Consort called The Food of Love. We'll also hear performances by Ensemble Leones, Capilla Flamenca, and Ensemble Organum.

Gilles Joye: Ce qu’on fait a catimini; Alla Francesca

Antoine Busnoys: Je ne puis vivre; Pomerium

Baude Cordier Belle, bonne, sage; Ensemble Organum

Guillaume Dufay: Se la face ay pale; Capilla Flamenca

Heinrich Isaac: Tota pulchra es; The Tallis Scholars

Richard Edwards: When griping grief; The Baltimore Consort

Anon.: My Lady Carey’s Dompe; Anon.: Complain my Lute; Anthony Holborne: Heart’s Ease; The Baltimore Consort

Guillaume Dufay: Dona gentile he bella; Anon.: Ben Io sa Dio se sum vergine e pura; Anon.: L’autre jour, par ung matin; Ensemble Leones