Music of Weinberg and Brahms on tonight’s “Evening Concert”

January 23, 2020

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s another Deutsche Welle Festival Concert. Denis Matsuev is the soloist in Brahms “1st Piano Concerto” with the Berlin Concerthouse Orchestra led by Thomas Sanderling.  Also on the program music by Weinberg and Tchaikovsky.  

Thursday January 23: Deutsche Welle Festival Concerts (DWF 2019-04) (New Season)

Mieczyslaw Weinberg

Konzerthausorchester Berlin/Thomas Sanderling, conductor

Brahms: Piano concerto No. 1 in D Minor, op. 15; Denis Matsuev, piano

Tchaikovsky: Méditation, No. 5 of the 18 Piano Pieces op. 72 (Encore played by Matsuev)

Weinberg: Symphony No. 22 op. 154, orchestrated by Kirill Umansky

Weinberg: Trio für violin, viola and cello, op. 48 

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights