Evening Concert

Nicholas McGegan conducts the CSO in 18th-Century works on tonight’s “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on WILL-FM 90.9 Nicholas McGegan guest conducts the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in 18th-Century works: Handel’s Op.6 No.1 Concerto Grosso, Bach’s Sinfonia in G Minor and arias by Vivaldi and Porpora. Also on the program, Haydn’s 100th Symphony.

Tuesday April 18: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO 17-16)

Nicholas McGegan conducts 18th- Century Works

Handel: Concerto grosso in G Major, Op. 6, No. 1

Vivaldi: Alma oppressa (from La fida ninfa) (Vivica Genaux, mezzo-soprano)

Porpora: Oh volesser gli Dei. . . Dolci, freschi aurette (from Polifemo) (Vivica Genaux, mezzo-soprano)

Bach: Sinfonia in G Minor, Op. 6, No. 6

Porpora: Or la nube procellosa (Vivica Genaux, mezzo-soprano)

Broschi: Qual guerriero in campo armato (from Idaspe) (Vivica Genaux, mezzo-soprano)

Haydn: Symphony No. 100 in G Major (Military)

[CSO fill: Shostakovich: Chamber Symphony (Jaap van Zweden, conductor)]