Excerpts from Wagner’s opera “The Twilight of the Gods” on the “Evening Concert”

October 22, 2019

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the “Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast”. You’ll hear Liszt’s symphonic poem “Prometheus”, excerpts from Wagner’s opera “The Twilight of the Gods” and the Schoenberg orchestration of Brahms’ “1st Piano Quartet”. Simone Young guest conducts.

Tuesday October 22: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast (CSO 19-43)

Simone Young conducts Wagner and Brahms

Liszt: Prometheus, Symphonic Poem No. 5

Wagner: Excerpts from Götterdämmerung (Dawn and Siegfried's Rhine Journey, Siegfried's Death and Funeral Music, and Epilogue)

Brahms/Schoenberg: Piano Quartet No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 25

[CSO fill: Hindemith: Symphonic Metamorphosis on Themes by Carl Maria von Weber (Rafael Kubelik, cond.]

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights