Vasily Petrenko conducts Rachmaninoff: the Chicago Symphony Orchestra on the Evening Concert

July 28, 2015

Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on WILL-FM 90.9 it’s the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Guest Conductor Vasily Petrenko leads the group in Elgar’s “In the South” and Rachmaninoff’s “Symphonic Dances”. Also on the program, Paul Lewis is the soloist in Beethoven’s “Emperor” Piano Concerto.

Tuesday July 28: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO #15-30)

Vasily Petrenko conducts Rachmaninoff

Elgar: In the South (Alassio) [inspired by a trip to the italian Riviera in 1903]

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 (Emperor) (Paul Lewis, piano) [Often heard, never tiring of it...]

Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances [his last work, a culmination of his style]

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights