Evening Concert

Clarinetist Michael Rusinek plays Weber’s First “Clarinet Concerto” in Pittsburgh


Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on WILL-FM 90.9 it’s the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.  Michael Rusinek is the soloist in Weber’s “Clarinet Concerto No. 1” and Rossinis’ “Introduction, Theme and Variations”; Music Director Manfred Honeck conducting. Also on the program waltzes and polkas from the Strauss family and other Viennese composers.  

Wednesday August 10: Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra (PSO) 15-16_11)

SUPPE: Overture to “A Morning, Noon, and Night in Vienna”

ZIEHRER: “Viennese Maiden” Waltz

WEBER: Clarinet Concerto No. 1 (Michael Rusinek, clarinet)

ZIEHRER: “Step Right In” Waltz    

R. STRAUSS: Suite from the Ballet “Whipped Cream”

ROSSINI: Introduction, Theme and Variations for Clarinet and Orchestra (Michael Rusinek, clarinet)           

STRAUSS, JR: “New ‘Pizzacato Polka’”    

SCHONHERR: “Drive in the Prater Park” Galop

STRAUSS, JOSEF: “Feuerfest” Polka    

STRAUSS, JOH., SR.: “Radetky March”

[PSO fill: STRAUSS, Johann & Josef: “Pizzacato Polka”;

STRAUSS, JR.: “Tritsch-Tratsch” Polka]

Manfred Honeck, conductor