Incumbents Win In Champaign County

Champaign County States Attorney Julia Rietz and Public Defender George Vargas debate during Tuesdays forum in the Champaign City Council chambers.

Champaign County State's Attorney Julia Rietz won re-election against Republican George Vargas. The two are pictured at a candidate's forum in September.

Jeff Bossert/Illinois Public Media

It was a good night for incumbents in Champaign County, though one of them had to wait for the final votes to be counted to claim victory.

In a rematch from the 2012 election, Champaign County Auditor John Farney (R) won re-election over Democrat George Danos by just 129 votes.  County Coroner Duane Northrup was re-elected with nearly 56% of the vote in his race against Democrat Alexander Rounds.

Meanwhile, Champaign County State's Attorney Julia Rietz (D) won re-election comfortably over Republican George Vargas with 57% of the vote.  Republican Mark Shelden returned to countywide office with a narrow 51-49% victory over Democrat Matt Duco in the race for Recorder of Deeds.  Shelden replaces retiring Republican Barb Frasca.  He served as Champaign County Clerk from 1997-2010 before leaving that office to work on U.S. Rep. Tim Johnson's staff.

Champaign County Democrats retained their narrow 12-10 majority on the county board.  There were only two contested races.  Republican Jon Rector was re-elected to his District 5 seat by a narrow 38-vote margin over Democrat Peter Tracy.  Meanwhile, after defeating incubment Lloyd Carter in the March Democratic primary, James Tinsley was elected to the District 11 seat with 67% of the vote over Republican Barbara Burch Rogers.

Story source: WILL