McFadden Wins Chicago Marathon Women’s Wheelchair Div. For 8th Time

Tatyana McFadden winning the women's wheelchair division of the Chicago Marathon.

Former University of Illinois wheelchair athlete Tatyana McFadden, wins the women's wheelchair division of the Chicago Marathon on Sunday.. Another Illini wheelchair athlete, Amanda McGrory of Savoy, is close behind McFadden, and finished 2nd.

Paul Beaty/AP

Tatyana McFadden set a new course record to once again win the Chicago Marathon women’s wheelchair division.

The former University of Illinois athlete finished the competition with a time of one hour, 39 minutes, 15 seconds, just ahead of Amanda McGrory of Savoy, whose unofficial finish time was identical at 1:39:15.

The win marked the 8th time McFadden has won the Chicago Marathon women’s wheelchair division, and the 7th time consecutively.

The impact of the U of I’s wheelchair athletics program was reflected in other finishers from Champaign who finished near the top.

Those include Susanah Scaroni (7th among the women, 1:44:11); Katrina Gerhard (8th, 1:54:18); Arielle Rausin (10th, 1:59:03); and Jenna Fesemyer (11th, 2:11:47).

In the men’s wheelchair division, Champaign and Savoy wheelchair athletes also did well. They include Daniel Romanchuk (9th among the men, 1:30:33); Aaron Pike (17th, 1:39:01); Brian Siemann (19th, 1:39:02); and U of I Wheelchair Track head coach Adam Bleakney (25nd, 1:45:40).

Swiss wheelchair athlete Marcel Hug won the men’s wheelchair division of the Chicago Marathon with a time of 1:29:33.

Also at the Chicago Marathon, Galen Rupp was the overall winner, to become the first American winner in 15 years.

Rupp finished in 2 hours, 9 minutes, 20 seconds.  Khalid Khannouchi was the last U.S. winner in 2002.

Kenya's Abel Kirui was second, 28 seconds behind Rupp. Kenya's Bernard Kipyego was third.

Ethiopia's Tirunesh Dibaba won the women's race in 2:18:31. Kenya's Brigid Kosgei was second, and American Jordan Hasay third.

More than 40,000 runners started the 40th annual race more than a million spectators lined the route.

Story source: WILL