News Local/State

Quinn, Congressional Delegation, Request Federal Assistance


Gov. Pat Quinn has asked President Barack Obama to declare 15 counties in Illinois major disaster areas after tornadoes and strong storms hit the state last week.

Quinn also said today that state and federal assessment teams found the storms damaged more than 2,400 homes in Illinois. That includes nearly 800 homes that were destroyed.

Counties in that list of a state declaration include Champaign, Vermilion, and Douglas.
State agencies continue to help Illinois communities recover from the Nov. 17 storms. Illinois Department of Transportation equipment and Illinois Department of Corrections inmate crews are working to remove debris.

A note from U.S. Sen. Mark Kirk's office indicates the state's congressional delegation also requested the declaration in a letter to the president.

The storm system produced 67 tornadoes throughout the Midwest, 24 of which touched down in Illinois, causing widespread destruction throughout the state," said the delegation.  "The tornadoes resulted in six Illinois fatalities and at least 180 injuries. We respectfully request that you make the necessary declaration so that these counties can receive the assistance they need.”

The state will have resource centers in the hard-hit areas of Washington and Brookport through tomorrow.
The governor's office says state and federal emergency officials will meet with local governments early next month to document storm expenses.