Duke Ellington
Florence Price

Gateways Radio

Friday night June 30 at 6:00 on WILL-FM 90.9 it’s Gateways Radio. Garrett McQueen is your host. You’ll hear Florence Price’s “3rd Symphony” performed by the Gateways Orchestra.  Also on the program a string quartet version of Duke Ellington’s “Take the A Train” and music by Margaret Bonds.


Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra - On Stage

Wednesday night October 5 at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the “Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra”. You’ll hear Stravinsky’s “Firebird Suite”.  Music Director Ken-David Masur conducts. Also on the program Duke Ellington’s “New World A-Comin” and Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue” with soloist Aaron Diehl.

Duke Ellington

An all-Duke Ellington program from Los Angeles

Wednesday night Aug 10 at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the “Los Angeles Philharmonic”.  Guest conductor Thomas Wilkins leads the Philharmonic in an all-Duke Ellington program featuring the “Black, Brown, and Beige”, “Night Creature”, and “The River” Suite. Also on the program “A New World A-Comin’” featuring pianist Gerald Clayton.

More articles →