Evening Concert

Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast

Anna Rakitina Makes her CSO Conducting Debut

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on WILL-FM 90.9 it’s the “Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast”. Anna Rakitina makes her CSO conducting debut. You’ll hear Tchaikovsky’s “Capriccio Italien” and selections from “The Nutcracker” as well as the “Roccoco Variations” with cello soloist Alicia Weilerstein.

Tuesday, May 9: 7:00 pm: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO 23-19)

Rakitina (CSO debut), Weilerstein & Tchaikovsky

Anna Rakitina, conductor

Tchaikovsky: Capriccio Italien, Op. 45

Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Roccoco Theme for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 33; Alisa Weilerstein, cello

Tchaikovsky: Pezzo capriccioso, Op. 62; Alisa Weilerstein, cello

[Encore: Bach: Sarabande from Suite No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1008; Alisa Weilerstein, cello]

Tchaikovsky: Suite from The Nutcracker, Op. 71a

[CSO fill: Stravinsky: Symphony of Psalms; Sir Georg Solti, conductor; Chicago Symphony Chorus]