Evening Concert

Brahms’ “Clarinet Trio” and polychoral music by Gabrieli and others on tonight’s “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on FM 90.9 you’ll Brahms’ Opus 114 Clarinet Trio on “The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center”.  At 8:00 you’ll  hear polychoral works for four, eight, twelve, sixteen and forty  voices by Gabrieli, Tallis and others on “Early Music Now”.

Sunday September 2: The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 17-49)

Late Style

Mozart: Adagio in B minor for Piano, K. 540 Jeffrey Kahane, Piano

Brahms: Trio in A minor for Clarinet, Cello, and Piano, Op. 114  Anthony McGill, Clarinet; Alisa Weilerstein, Cello; Inon Barnatan, Piano

Janáček: Mládí, Suite for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Bassoon, and Horn

Sooyun Kim, Flute; Stephen Taylor, Oboe; Tommaso Lonquich, Clarinet; Romie de Guise-Langlois, Bass Clarinet; Peter Kolkay, Bassoon; David Jolley, Horn

AND Early Music Now with Sara Schneider (EMN 18-10)

From Four to 40 in 60 Minutes

Composers like Tallis, Giovanni Gabrieli, and Striggio were sonic architects who wrote polychoral music for up to forty separate voice parts. This week's show presents music for four, eight, 12, 16 and 40 voices, performed by The Huelgas Ensemble and I Fagiolini.

Samuel Scheidt: Paduan 4. Vocum La Fenice/Jean Tubery

Giovanni Gabrieli: Jubliate Deo Liuwe Tamminga, organ

Giovanni Gabrieli: Exaudi me Domine Huelgas Ensemble/Paul van Nevel

Giovanni Gabrieli: Canzona XVII a 12 Musica Fiata/Roland Wilson

Robert Wylkynson: Jesu autem transiens The Sixteen/Harry Christophers

Michael Praetorius: Jesaja dem Propheten das geschah Gabrieli Consort and Players/Paul McCreesh

Alessandro Striggio: Ecce beatem lucem I Fagiolini/Robert Hollingworth

Anon.: Spem in Alium I Fagiolini/Robert Hollingworth

Thomas Tallis: Spem in Alium Huelgas Ensemble/Paul van Nevel

Antoine Brumel: Kyrie from ‘Missa Et Ecce Terrae Motus’ The Tallis Scholars/Peter Philips