Evening Concert

Bernstein’s “Symphonic Dances from “West Side Story”” on the “Evening Concert”


Tuesday, December 1: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast (CSO 20-49)

Program differs from the listing in Patterns Magazine per CSO

Variations on America

Gershwin: Cuban Overture (Daniel Barenboim, cond.)

Gershwin/Tovey: A Foggy Day (Bramwell Tovey, piano)

Ives: The Unanswered Question (original version) (Adolph Herseth, trumpet; Michael Tilson Thomas, cond.)

Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story (Daniel Barenboim, cond.)

Ives/Schuman: Variations on America (Morton Gould, cond.)

Williams: Selections from Lincoln (The People's House and Appomattox, April 9, 1965) (Chicago Symphony Chorus (Duain Wolfe, director), John Williams, cond.)

Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95 (From the New World) (Carlo Maria Giulini, cond.)