Evening Concert

From the Cleveland Orchestra archives Mischa Dichter plays Brahms “1st Piano Concerto” on the “Evening Concert”


Wednesday, November 18: Cleveland Orchestra (COR 20-08)

Concert Date: 7/30/70 July 30 was the 50th anniversary of the death of George Szell. As a memorial for the conductor who was mainly responsible for bringing the Orchestra into world-wide fame, we present the concert that was being given when word of Szell’s death was received. Principal Guest Conductor Pierre Boulez told the members of the Orchestra of Szell’s death following the concert.

Pierre Boulez, conductor, Misha Dichter, piano

HANDEL: Concerto Grosso in G, “Alexander’s Feast”

BRAHMS: Piano Concerto No. 1 in d, Op. 15

PROKOFIEV: Scythian Suite

[COR fill: KODALY: "Hary Janos" Suite - Cleveland Orchestra/George Szell Severance Hall 01-09-65]