Champaign’s Motor Fuel Tax Vote Delayed


Tuesday night's absence of three Champaign City Council members has prompted a 2-month delay in the vote for a local motor fuel tax.

The 4-cent per gallon item was up for a possible vote, but council members Paul Faraci, Deb Frank Feinen, and Michael La Due weren't at the meeting. The holiday schedule, and Mayor Don Gerard's absence in January means the vote won't come until the city council's first meeting in February. The tax proposal would be used to pay for road projects.

Council member Tom Bruno says he's heard debate on both sides, but would like to hear more about the merits of the plan rather than knee-jerk reactions. Bruno says one reason infrastructure has suffered is that tax revenues are down dramatically from where they were a few years ago.

Story source: WILL